Sydenham District · Public research
More homes mean more tax and developer contributions. Residents should be able to see how local infrastructure is funded, what has been built and what is still waiting.
This report follows the available records around Sydenham. It finds substantial revenue and real projects, but no complete public account linking the money, the work and the cost of keeping facilities running.
The money is recorded. The local picture is missing.
Tax records show money collected. Council reports show developer contributions. Project announcements show funding and progress. The missing piece is a joined-up view of what those records mean for Sydenham.
That leaves residents doing the detective work: What is funded? What is finished? What is still waiting? Who pays to maintain it?
The answer is a public, project-by-project record that brings those details together. That is the District Growth Ledger proposed in this report.
What the finding means: there is a gap in the public account. It does not establish that Sydenham is owed money, has been underfunded or has had funding withheld.
Tax revenue
About $130 million in stamp duty across five postcodes.
The report records $130.365 million from 5,348 property transactions in 2024-25, across postcodes 3036, 3037, 3038, 3335 and 3336. S1 S2
Those postcodes include communities in Sydenham and places outside it. The figure shows the scale of property activity around the district. It is not the amount paid by Sydenham alone.
Postcode breakdown, land tax and first home buyer figures
| Postcode | Land transfer duty | Transactions |
|---|---|---|
| 3036 | $7.251m | 115 |
| 3037 | $23.216m | 798 |
| 3038 | $13.754m | 390 |
| 3335 | $34.963m | 1,440 |
| 3336 | $51.182m | 2,605 |
| Five-postcode envelope | $130.365m | 5,348 |
A small discrepancy in the source: the five amounts listed add up to $130.366 million. The source report gives $130.365 million, a $1,000 difference. Both are retained here; the source does not explain the difference.
Land tax across the two council areas
| Municipality | Properties | Proportionate land tax |
|---|---|---|
| Brimbank | 28,727 | $195.181m |
| Melton | 35,029 | $187.543m |
These figures cover all of Brimbank and Melton, not just Sydenham. Adding them would not give a district land-tax total. S5
First home buyers
| Postcode / measure | Applications | Statewide rank |
|---|---|---|
| 3336: first-home-buyer principal-place-of-residence duty concession applicants | 812 | 6th |
| 3336: First Home Owner Grant applications | 619 | 4th |
| 3335: First Home Owner Grant applications | 295 | 9th |
These figures show demand in the wider growth area. Postcode 3336 covers Aintree, Deanside and Fraser Rise; Aintree is outside the district. Postcode 3335 includes Bonnie Brook, Plumpton and several suburbs outside the district. These are postcode counts, not district counts. S6 S7
Developer contributions
$20.819 million collected under one local infrastructure plan.
Melton Council recorded that amount in 2024-25 under the Plumpton & Kororoit Infrastructure Contributions Plan. The plan covers a growth precinct that overlaps parts of Sydenham; it is not a payment to the district as a whole. S10 S14
The same report records land received for five parks, two sports reserves, eight intersection sites, the Deanside Indoor Recreation Facility Centre and a section of Hopkins Road. S10
Land received is not a facility opened. To know what residents can actually use, we also need the construction and opening dates.
Contribution breakdown, land payments and the two-year total
| Measure | Amount |
|---|---|
| Monetary-component levies received | $20.819m |
| Works-in-kind against monetary component | $0 |
| Total monetary contribution received | $20.819m |
| Land Equalisation Amounts received | $9.539m |
| Land Credit Amounts paid | $52.251m |
The land figures are a separate part of the scheme. Land Equalisation Amounts help fund land credits and, where applicable, public-purpose land outside the precinct. The $9.539 million received and $52.251 million paid are not a profit-and-loss account. Subtracting one from the other does not show a deficit, loss or money improperly withheld. S9
The previous year, alongside it
| Period | Cash / levies | Works-in-kind | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2023-24 | $21.587m | $7.152m | $28.739m |
| 2024-25 | $20.819m | $0 | $20.819m |
| Two-year total | Not stated separately | Not stated separately | $49.558m |
The two years total $49.558 million in contributions. That includes $7.152 million of completed works in 2023-24, not just cash: two signalised intersections at North-South Road 1 / Melton Highway and Hopkins Road / East-West Road 5. No works were accepted against the monetary component in 2024-25. S10 S11
These are contributions under a particular planning scheme, not unrestricted council funds or a Sydenham District total.
Local projects
What has been built, and what is still being built?
Government grants and council funding also pay for infrastructure. These two Fraser Rise projects show why developer contributions alone cannot tell the whole story.
Open
Plumpton Community Centre
The $17 million centre opened in June 2025, with $10.9 million from the Victorian Government. This is a completed facility, not just a funding announcement. S15
Under construction at the evidence snapshot
New Aquatic and Leisure Centre
Construction began in November 2025, with a target opening in 2028. The Commonwealth committed $15 million through its Thriving Suburbs program. That is one contribution, not the total project cost. S16
These are examples, not a complete list of the district’s infrastructure. One is open; the other is being built. A useful public record needs to show that difference, along with the future running and maintenance costs.
Project funding figures and evidence classifications
| Project value | Victorian Government contribution | Evidence state |
|---|---|---|
| $17m | $10.9m | CLOSED / PROJECT |
| Australian Government contribution | Funding program | Evidence state |
|---|---|---|
| $15m | Thriving Suburbs | CLOSED / PROJECT |
Proposed changes
Make it possible to follow the money to the finished project.
One public record for local projects
The proposed District Growth Ledger would show each project’s funding, payments, progress, opening date and ongoing costs in one place. It would keep postcode, council and planning boundaries visible instead of pretending they all match Sydenham.
This is a proposal for better reporting, not a claim that a complete district ledger already exists.
A share of growth revenue for growing communities
The proposed Western Growth Dividend would direct a share of extra property revenue generated by growth towards local infrastructure. It would need rules to prevent that money simply replacing funding already planned.
The report includes an illustrative calculation to explore the scale. It does not establish a district amount or an entitlement.
The dividend calculation and what it can tell us
The report tests 20% and 25% of the average annual stamp duty across the five postcodes. This uses total duty, not a measured increase in revenue caused by growth. It illustrates scale; it does not calculate the proposed dividend. S2 S3 S4
| Period / test | Amount |
|---|---|
| 2022-23 | $114.151m |
| 2023-24 | $128.487m |
| 2024-25 | $130.365m |
| Three-year average | $124.334m |
| 20% of that average – MODELLED ONLY | $24.9m |
| 25% of that average – MODELLED ONLY | $31.1m |
These figures are examples, not a funding promise. The $24.9 million and $31.1 million amounts are not forecasts, entitlements or money owed to Sydenham. A district estimate would first need property- or transaction-level data matched to the electoral boundary.
Charge for extra infrastructure demand, without charging twice
The proposed Host Infrastructure Contribution would address developments that place unusually high demand on public infrastructure beyond their site. Any charge would have to be tied to a proven cost, with credit for contributions and qualifying public works already provided.
The report has not established a local case or calculated a local charge. This remains a general proposal, not a finding against a particular development or industry.
Fund the upkeep, not just the opening
The proposed Lifecycle Recognition Rule would show who takes responsibility for a new public asset, how long it is expected to last, and how its operation, maintenance and eventual replacement will be funded.
A new facility brings future bills as well as an opening day. Those bills belong in the public account too.
How the proposed rules would fit together
The report proposes changes through the Planning and Environment Act 1987 and related contribution and reporting arrangements. Final drafting would need to keep state taxes, growth-area levies, developer contributions, grants, council spending and future asset costs distinct. These proposals are not existing entitlements.
Why not just add it all up?
Because the records cover different places and different things. Sydenham crosses Brimbank and Melton. A postcode can cross the district boundary. A developer levy is not the same as state tax, and a payment is not proof that a project is finished.
Subtracting local spending from tax collected would not tell us what Sydenham is owed.
The two councils, their contribution schemes and the boundary problem
Two councils // Different records
Why there is no single return figure
Taylors Hill West // $1,866 received
Melton reported $1,866 in 2024-25 levies for the Taylors Hill West Development Contributions Plan (DCP). That is one year of receipts. It says nothing by itself about infrastructure delivered, earlier collections, outstanding liabilities or works already completed. CLOSED / PRECINCT S10
Brimbank // $398,437 received
Brimbank’s municipal DCP applies to new development across the council area, including charge areas for Taylors Lakes and Delahey. In 2024-25 it recorded $398,437 in levies received. S12
| Measure | Reported amount / status |
|---|---|
| Total levies received to date: post-June-2016 DCP | $4.829m |
| Spent from those DCP levies to date | $18,800 |
| DCP-funded works delivered in 2024-25 | None reported |
CLOSED / LGA: These are municipal DCP records, not a Sydenham balance sheet or all Brimbank infrastructure spending. Melton ICP and Brimbank DCP figures use different schemes, boundaries and stages of development. Do not combine them into one return number.
GAIC // One electorate, two funding systems
Sydenham District spans Melton and Brimbank. Melton is a growth municipality under the Growth Areas Infrastructure Contribution (GAIC). Brimbank is not. S1 S8
On the Melton side, GAIC applies only within its defined contribution area and when its triggering rules are met. Being inside Sydenham does not make Brimbank land subject to GAIC.
GAIC is a state contribution on qualifying land. It is split equally between the Growth Areas Public Transport Fund and the Building New Communities Fund. Other listed growth municipalities include Cardinia, Casey, Hume, Mitchell and Whittlesea. S8
No Sydenham GAIC total is published in the sources used here. A district-wide collection-to-return ratio would be invalid because the district crosses the GAIC boundary.
How the evidence was checked
The detailed checks below distinguish official figures, figures covering a wider area, illustrative calculations and claims the report rejected. They are retained so the shorter explanation can still be checked against the original work.
Evidence labels, boundaries and claims the report rejects
Evidence controls
How to read the receipts
| State | Meaning |
|---|---|
| CLOSED | Verified against a primary or official source in the source report. |
| PROXY | Useful evidence whose boundary does not exactly match Sydenham District. |
| MODELLED | Illustrative sensitivity values; not forecasts, entitlements or commitments. |
| CUT | Rejected: inaccurate, non-comparable or geographically misaligned. |
| Geography | Meaning |
|---|---|
| DISTRICT | Matches the VEC electoral district. |
| POSTCODE | SRO postcode data; may include land outside the district. |
| LGA | Brimbank or Melton municipal total; not a district total. |
| PRECINCT | ICP/DCP/PSP planning boundary; may overlap but not equal the district. |
| PROJECT | Specific project within or relevant to the district. |
The full chain // Not just money in and out
- Generated01 // Revenue raised
- Allocated02 // Funding assigned
- Committed03 // Commitment recorded
- Paid04 // Payment made
- Completed05 // Asset finished
- Transferred / operated06 // Responsibility accepted
- Maintained07 // Ongoing costs
- Renewed08 // Long-term replacement
Six questions // Controlled answers
- Did Sydenham pay $130.365m in duty?
- No. Five whole postcodes overlapping the electorate did. PROXY.
- Can the two councils’ land tax be added?
- No. The municipal boundaries extend beyond the district.
- Does $52.251m in land credits mean a $42m loss?
- No. Land-equalisation flows are not a profit/loss test.
- Did Taylors Hill West get only $1,866 back?
- No. That is one year of levy receipts, not spending or delivery.
- Does GAIC cover all of Sydenham?
- No. Melton is a GAIC growth municipality; Brimbank is not.
- Does one completed centre prove all growth funding works?
- No. It demonstrates one delivered asset and a separate grant/council funding stream.
What the evidence does not say
These claims remain rejected or restricted. The wording below records the test; it is not a statement of the report’s findings.
| Claim tested | State | Reason / permitted formulation |
|---|---|---|
| Sydenham District paid $130.365m in stamp duty in 2024-25. | CUT | The five-postcode total extends beyond the district. Permitted: five-postcode envelope relevant to Sydenham District localities. |
| Brimbank + Melton land tax equals Sydenham District land tax. | CUT | Municipal totals do not match the district boundary. |
| Plumpton & Kororoit paid $20.819m to the district. | CUT | An ICP precinct contribution stream is not an electorate payment. |
| The $52.251m land credit payment is a deficit or loss. | CUT | Land credits and equalisation amounts are statutory land-component flows, not a profit/loss measure. |
| Taylors Hill West only received $1,866 of infrastructure. | CUT | $1,866 is 2024-25 DCP levy receipts, not delivery. |
| GAIC applies across Sydenham District. | CUT | GAIC applies in specified growth municipalities. The Brimbank part is outside that municipal list. |
| $24.9m / $31.1m is owed to Sydenham District. | MODELLED ONLY | Sensitivity test on an over-inclusive postcode envelope; not an entitlement. |
How to quote these figures: Never turn postcode or council-area figures into electorate totals, modelled amounts into entitlements, receipts into spending, or land transactions into completed infrastructure.
The figures, with their limits attached
The claim register records what each figure supports and how it can be quoted without changing its meaning.
Full claim register
The claim register
| Claim | State / geography | How to quote the claim |
|---|---|---|
| 2024-25 five-postcode duty envelope $130.365m | PROXY / POSTCODE | Never call a Sydenham District total. |
| Three-year postcode-envelope average $124.334m | PROXY / POSTCODE | Derived from SRO annual postcode tables. |
| 20% / 25% dividend $24.9m / $31.1m | MODELLED / POSTCODE | Sensitivity test only; no entitlement language. |
| Brimbank 2025 land tax $195.181m | CLOSED / LGA | Municipal context only. |
| Melton 2025 land tax $187.543m | CLOSED / LGA | Municipal context only. |
| 3336 FHB duty concession applicants 812 | CLOSED / POSTCODE | Growth indicator; not district count. |
| 3336 FHOG applications 619 | CLOSED / POSTCODE | Growth indicator; includes Aintree outside district. |
| 3335 FHOG applications 295 | CLOSED / POSTCODE | Growth indicator; postcode extends beyond district. |
| Claim | State / geography | How to quote the claim |
|---|---|---|
| P&K ICP 2024-25 total contribution $20.819m | CLOSED / PRECINCT | Do not call district cash or unrestricted revenue. |
| P&K ICP 2024-25 LEA $9.539m / LCA $52.251m | CLOSED / PRECINCT | Do not net into a deficit claim. |
| P&K ICP two-year contribution $49.558m | CLOSED-DERIVED / PRECINCT | Includes $7.152m works-in-kind in 2023-24. |
| Taylors Hill West DCP 2024-25 receipts $1,866 | CLOSED / PRECINCT | Receipt only; not return/delivery. |
| Brimbank DCP 2024-25 receipts $398,437 | CLOSED / LGA | Municipal DCP context only. |
| Plumpton Community Centre $17m / $10.9m state contribution | CLOSED / PROJECT | Completed project control. |
| Aquatic & Leisure Centre $15m Commonwealth contribution | CLOSED / PROJECT | Under construction; do not call completed. |
Reading this register: Check the geography and evidence classification before quoting a figure. The public edition changes presentation and wording; it does not upgrade the source evidence.
What the sources tell us
The records answer different questions. Read them together and the story becomes clearer: money is collected, land is contributed and projects are delivered. What the report could not find was one complete account connecting those stages for Sydenham.
Property transactions generate tax
The report’s five-postcode total is $130.365 million in stamp duty from 5,348 transactions in 2024-25. That shows the scale of property activity around Sydenham, not what the district alone paid or where the revenue was spent.
Check the stamp duty figures (S2)Developers contribute cash and land
Melton’s annual report records $20.819 million collected under the Plumpton & Kororoit plan, alongside land received for local infrastructure. This is a separate funding stream. Receiving land does not mean a park or facility is open.
Check Melton’s contribution records (S10)Delivery needs its own evidence
Plumpton Community Centre is an example of a completed facility. The aquatic centre was under construction at the report’s snapshot. An opening and a funding commitment tell us different things.
Check the community centre opening (S15)Check the aquatic centre project (S16)The missing link is the complete local account
These records do not form a district balance sheet. They cover different boundaries, funding streams and stages of delivery. The proposed District Growth Ledger would connect project funding, progress, opening dates and upkeep without pretending those boundaries match.
Read the proposed reporting changes
Full source list
Source numbers match the original evidence report. This edition preserves the 20 September 2026 evidence snapshot; it does not represent a fresh verification of every underlying figure.
- S1Sydenham DistrictVictorian Electoral Commission
Sets the district boundary. Use it to see why postcode and council figures are not automatically Sydenham totals.
- S2Land transfer duty by postcode 2024-25State Revenue Office
Supplies the 2024-25 postcode stamp duty figures used in the report. It records revenue, not local spending.
- S3Land transfer duty by postcode 2023-24State Revenue Office
Earlier postcode stamp duty data used for comparison and the illustrative growth calculation.
- S4Land transfer duty by postcode 2022-23State Revenue Office
The earlier stamp duty baseline used in the report. It covers postcodes, not the electoral district.
- S5Land tax by municipality 2025State Revenue Office
Shows land tax at municipality level. Council totals cannot be relabelled as Sydenham totals.
- S6First home buyer duty concession by postcode 2024-25State Revenue Office
Shows first-home-buyer duty concessions by postcode, separately from tax collected.
- S7First Home Owner Grant 2024-25State Revenue Office
Provides first-home-owner grant figures. Grants and duty concessions are distinct forms of assistance.
- S8Growth Areas Infrastructure ContributionPlanning Victoria
Explains the Growth Areas Infrastructure Contribution, a different mechanism from local council contribution plans.
- S9Infrastructure contributions / ICP land componentPlanning Victoria
Explains infrastructure contribution plans and the land component, helping distinguish cash from land.
- S10Annual Report 2024-25City of Melton
Records the Plumpton & Kororoit cash contributions and land received in 2024-25, used in this report.
- S11Annual Report 2023-24City of Melton
Provides the previous year of Melton contribution reporting for the two-year comparison.
- S12Annual Report 2024-25Brimbank City Council
Provides the Brimbank council reporting used alongside Melton. Sydenham crosses both municipalities.
- S13Managing Development ContributionsVictorian Auditor-General
Provides an independent audit of development-contribution management. It is context, not a calculation of money owed to Sydenham.
- S14Plumpton & Kororoit Infrastructure Contributions PlanVictorian Planning Authority
Defines the Plumpton & Kororoit contribution plan and its scope, which is not the same as the district boundary.
- S15Plumpton Community Centre officially opens its doorsCity of Melton
Supports the community centre opening and funding example: evidence of a delivered facility.
- S16New Aquatic and Leisure CentreCity of Melton
Provides the aquatic centre project information used for the construction and funding example. A contribution is not the whole project cost.
Have a record that helps fill a gap? Send it through.